Statisfaction

A good tool for researchers ?

Posted in Geek by JB Salomond on 17 January 2013

Image

Hi there !

Like Pierre a while ago, I got fed up with printing articles, annotating them, losing them, re-printing them, and so on. Moreover, I also wanted to be able to carry more than one or two books in my bag without ruining my back. E-Ink readers seemed good but at some point I changed my mind

After the ISBA conference in Kyoto, where I saw bazillions of IPads, I thought that tablets really worth the shot. I am cool with reading on a LCD screen, I probably won’t read scientific articles/books outside in the sun, and I like the idea of a light device that can replace my laptop in conferences. Furthermore, there is now a large choice of apps to annotate pdf which is crucial for me.

The device I chose run on Android (mainly because there is no memory extension on Apple devices), combined with a good capacitive pen, an annotation app such as eZreader that get your pdf directly from Dropbox (which is simply awesome). You can even use LaTeX (without fancy packages…) which may become handy.

I hope that I will not experience the same disappointment as Pierre did with his reader, but for the moment a tablet seems just what I needed !

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pierre Jacob said, on 18 January 2013 at 05:09

    Looks good. How is it for writing? Only good for annotations, or also good for taking (long) notes?

    • JB Salomond said, on 18 January 2013 at 12:33

      It sure does not feel like a piece of paper and a pen, but I think you can get used to it. For the moment, given that I have a poor handwriting, well it is a mess !

      • Pierre Jacob said, on 21 January 2013 at 07:09

        OK thanks for the info!

        I’m sure you’ll get a proper warranty from Samsung in case something breaks, but anyway a LCD screen should be more robust than the e-ink screen I had on my reader. I’m not sure the e-ink technology is ready for large screens yet, many people seem to report problems.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

